Helping Keep You On the Road After a DUI Arrest
If you have been arrested for DUI (also known as DWI or drunk driving) in Washington State, you face a possible lengthy driver's license suspension. It is imperative to take immediate action. You have the right to request a hearing before the Department of Licensure to fight driver's license suspension. You also have the right to request an ignition interlock license that will keep you on the road.
At the Seattle Law Offices of Steve Karimi, we can help you fight driver's license suspension following a DUI arrest. Contact us today for a free consultation. Attorney Steve Karimi has extensive experience in these cases and a proven record of success. Help is available 24-hours a day and at reasonable rates.
Call 206-621-8777 or 206-660-6200 To Get the Help You Need
Avoiding license suspension or revocation after a DUI arrest and conviction is difficult. There is hope, but only if you take action quickly and secure experienced representation. When you were arrested, the police officer gave you a form to request a Department of Licensing (DOL) hearing. You must request a hearing within 20 days of arrest in order to stop your driver license from being automatically suspended.
If you fail to request a hearing, even on a first offense, your driver license will be suspended automatically for ninety days. You may still qualify for a temporary, restricted license even during the suspension or revocation period if you agree to the installation of an ignition interlock device (IID) and apply for an ignition interlock license (IIL).
If this is your second DUI charge, you face a two year license suspension. For repeat offenders, the suspension period can be four years or more.
Driver's License Suspension and Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) Test Refusal
The suspension or revocation period for those who refuse is always longer than for those who are tested and fail. This administrative license suspension action is totally separate from the criminal charge the person may face, which may result in other consequences and conditions on top of the administrative loss of license. If you allegedly refused the breath test and this is your first offense, the department of licensing will attempt to revoke your license for one year. The refusal may be overcome if you were confused, the officer lacked probable cause to stop and arrest, or you were denied access to counsel. Such issues may result in dismissal of the department's revocation.
Suspended License Reinstatement and Court-Ordered Alcohol Treatment
Washington law includes assessment and treatment as a critical part of the intervention offenders face if convicted. In addition to giving the court the authority to require assessment and refer offenders to treatment, the Department of Licensing is prohibited from reinstating the license of persons who don't get assessed and complete the education or treatment the assessment requires.
"Let My Extensive Experience as a Former Prosecutor Work For You."
Seattle DUI defense lawyer Steve Karimi will apply his in-depth knowledge of the criminal justice system to fight to preserve your ability to drive. At the Law Offices of Steve Karimi, we are quite successful at representing our clients and eliminating the driver's license suspensions and representing your legal interests if your Washington driver's license has been suspended. Please call our offices at 206-621-8777 or 206-660-6200 for immediate assistance. You can also contact us by e-mail now for answers to your important questions or to schedule an appointment for a free consultation.