Actress Heather Locklear was arrested for two counts of misdemeanor battery on Sunday, June 24, according to police records. The arrest is the most recent in a series of legal problems for the actress best known for her role on Melrose Place.
Sheriff's deputies were dispatched to two separate calls at Locklear's home in Thousand Oaks, California. According to the Ventura County Sherriff's Department, the first call was made at approximately 6 PM to report a disturbance. The deputies dispatched to the residence determined that no crime had been committed and left the scene. The second call was made around 11 PM local time. According to the Sherriff's Office, deputies returned to the home to discover a domestic disturbance involving Locklear and an unidentified party. During the investigation, deputies allege Locklear kicked one of the law enforcement officers in the leg. Locklear, who was described as “extremely intoxicated and very uncooperative” was handcuffed and arrested for striking the deputy.
Due to Locklear's intoxicated state, California law mandated that she receive a medical check before being booked into jail. During the course of the medical check, Locklear allegedly kicked a medic in the chest. This led to additional charges against the actress.
Upon completion of her medical evaluation at a local medical facility, Locklear was booked into jail. A bond of $20,000 was set.
This incident was only the most recent scrape with the law for Locklear. In April, Locklear entered a plea of not guilty on a slew of similar misdemeanor charges. In total, Locklear faces four misdemeanor battery on a police officer charges as well as a single misdemeanor count of resisting, obstructing, or delaying a police officer. These charges stem from a February arrest following another domestic dispute at her Thousand Oaks Residence. To date, Locklear has yet to comment on either arrest.
How a Seattle Criminal Defense Attorney Can Help With a Misdemeanor Charge
Misdemeanors are no laughing matter; unless otherwise specified, a misdemeanor carries a maximum sentence of 90 days in jail. However, there are a number of options built into Washington law that allow for leniency for first-time offenders in misdemeanor cases.
Certain offenses may be eligible for a deferred sentence. Also known as a diversion, these programs allow first-time offenders for charges like driving under the influence of drugs to plead guilty and complete a drug awareness program and have their case dismissed after a period of time. However, if a defendant fails to comply with the program the court could impose a jail sentence instead of dismissing the case.
Upon a finding of guilty, the court has the power to grant probation in some cases. Probation involves a sentence being imposed but suspended as long as the defendant stays out of trouble for a set period of time.
In certain cases, a court will agree to a “civil compromise.” Often seen in theft cases, a civil compromise involves a court dismissing a charge after the alleged victim appears before the court and testifies that they have received satisfaction from the crime. In most cases, this involves the payment of the victim's damages by the defendant.
If you have been charged with a misdemeanor in the Seattle area, contact The Law Offices of Steve Karimi for a free consultation.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment