The father of the teen who killed four classmates at Marysville-Pilchuck High School last fall was convicted last week of illegally possessing a half-dozen firearms, including the one his son used in the shooting. Just days before the chilling shooting at our neighboring state in Roseburg Oregon, Raymond Lee Fryberg Jr. was convicted of six counts of unlawful possession of a firearm in District Court in Seattle. One of the firearms, a .40-caliber Beretta pistol, was used by his son 15-year-old Jaylen Fryberg last year to kill four classmates and then himself. However, the sole issue in Fryberg's criminal trial was whether he was supposed to be barred from owning firearms due to a past tribal domestic violence protective order issued against him in 2002.
A grand jury has found Fryberg guilty of unlawful possession of six firearms. Fryberg will remain free until sentencing, which is scheduled for the new year on January 11th. He faces up to 10 years in prison for each count.
While owning a gun is perfectly legal, it is critical you do so responsibly. Washington State has various laws regarding which firearms one may not own, and when a permit is needed for situations such as a conceal and carry. While most people are not out to break the law, courts and law enforcement are increasingly cracking down on those who have a possession of illegal weapons.
An unlawful possession of firearms offense generally involves ownership, possession, or control of any firearm in a manner that violates the law. There are two types of unlawful possession of firearms charges in Washington State: unlawful possession of a firearm in the first degree and unlawful possession of a firearm in the second degree.
a. Unlawful Possession of a Firearm in the First Degree:
Under RCW §9.41.040, one commits the crime of unlawful possession of a firearm in the first degree if s/he owns or possesses a firearm after having previously been convicted of a serious violent offense (ie. assault). It is a Class B felony punishable by ten years imprisonment, a fine of $20,000 or both.
b. Unlawful Possession of a Firearm in the Second Degree:
Under RCW §9.41.040, one commits the crime of unlawful possession of a firearm in the second degree degree if s/he owns or possesses a firearm after having previously been convicted of a felony (ie. criminal trespass, stalking). It is a Class C felony punishable by five years imprisonment and a fine of $10,000 or both.
Snohomish and King County Unlawful Possession Attorney
Sometimes, people just make mistakes and do not realize that they were required to register a firearm, or obtain a permit. As a former prosecutor for the state of Washington, attorney Steve Karimi will handle everything in your case with detail and zeal, including all steps necessary to build your defense, and to keep you out of jail. He is dedicated to protecting the freedom, constitutional rights, criminal record, and reputation of each of his clients. If you have been convicted of unlawful possession of a weapon/firearms, do not hesitate to contact us at 206-621-8777. Consultations are free and confidential.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment